The Corroseum Forum Index
Author Message

<  Metal Conquest  ~  Greek Ebay Sellers

nightsblood
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:19 pm Reply with quote
Metal Joined: 18 Mar 2007 Posts: 2228
Has anyone here had good or bad experiences with ebay sellers from Greece? I've never dealt with anyone from Greece, but I've heard from some dealers and collectors (as far back as the early 90s) that Greek collectors and dealers have a collective rep for being rather shady. Apologies to any Greeks posting here for the broad generalization. I see some interesting items on ebay from Greek sellers from time to time, so any info would be appreciated. I'm sure some are reliable and some are jerks.
A quick example of why I'm asking: a seller in Greece has a copy of the Joe Step LP listed on ebay currently. However, the picture in his auction is taken from an old auction now listed on popsike. This kind of thing always sets off warning lights to me. The minimum bid is too high for me to consider anyway, but it still struck me as iffy.

_________________
"I'm sorry Sam, we had real chemistry. But like a monkey on the sun, our love was too hot to live"
-Becky
View user's profile Send private message
vansinne
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:38 pm Reply with quote
Within The Prophecy Joined: 03 Jan 2008 Posts: 141 Location: Shanghai
Well, there are always nice fellows like this gentleman:
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZlastempire

Tried reporting him already without much success...
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
sovdat
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:39 pm Reply with quote
Metal Joined: 03 Feb 2007 Posts: 2467 Location: Slovenia
Can't say for the LPs, but in the CD circles, Greek ebay sellers have the similar reputation as traders from Philliphines - avoid at any cost! Very Happy

_________________
Deny the Cross

http://sovdat.najdaljsi.com/
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sovdat
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:41 pm Reply with quote
Metal Joined: 03 Feb 2007 Posts: 2467 Location: Slovenia
vansinne wrote:
Well, there are always nice fellows like this gentleman:
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZlastempire

Tried reporting him already without much success...


I believe this is the reincarnation of ebay seller Ritroids, who was banned recently. It seems that nothing can't stop him ... :/

_________________
Deny the Cross

http://sovdat.najdaljsi.com/
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Sentinel
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:47 pm Reply with quote
Metal Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 3289 Location: Netherlands
vansinne wrote:
Well, there are always nice fellows like this gentleman:
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZlastempire

Tried reporting him already without much success...


that guy is selling a Messiah Force CD, Is this real or a boot?


I think boot off course but you never know

_________________
Long Live The Loud !!!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sovdat
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:50 pm Reply with quote
Metal Joined: 03 Feb 2007 Posts: 2467 Location: Slovenia
100% bootleg Wink

_________________
Deny the Cross

http://sovdat.najdaljsi.com/
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sovdat
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:50 pm Reply with quote
Metal Joined: 03 Feb 2007 Posts: 2467 Location: Slovenia
In short:

"IT IS NOT A CD-R. IT IS A FACTORY PRESSING BUT I AM NOT SURE IT IS THE FIRST PRESS [EDITION] " - This means identical bootleg Smile

_________________
Deny the Cross

http://sovdat.najdaljsi.com/
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Abyss
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:54 pm Reply with quote
Forged In Fire Joined: 27 Sep 2007 Posts: 303
This guy needs new ink by the looks of it. Laughing the attila and heavy load looks like it was printed on a printer running out of ink.
View user's profile Send private message
The Sentinel
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:01 pm Reply with quote
Metal Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 3289 Location: Netherlands
Abyss wrote:
This guy needs new ink by the looks of it. Laughing the attila and heavy load looks like it was printed on a printer running out of ink.


You're indeed right and someone is bidding on that crap Confused

_________________
Long Live The Loud !!!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Abyss
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:06 pm Reply with quote
Forged In Fire Joined: 27 Sep 2007 Posts: 303
Most of these also look like they have no back cd inserts like they are in a jewel case with a white back or if they do they are only printed one side as you can plainly see white on the spine side and most back inserts do have artwork across them or the band uses a black cd holder so you don't see the plain white backing.


Last edited by Abyss on Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message
MassOfKthulu
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:06 pm Reply with quote
Stained Class Joined: 17 Jan 2007 Posts: 716 Location: Porto Leone, Hellas
reliable greek sellers:
carminabarbarica
liegelord7
antonlv
that guy with the joe step is a well known collector in greece,he ld send it if someone bid on it i suppose but i cant be too sure cos he's scammed people on ebay in the past and changed many accounts vinflu,viflun etc
View user's profile Send private message
Black Axe
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:07 pm Reply with quote
Metal Joined: 13 Aug 2007 Posts: 3093 Location: Too Close For Comfort
The Sentinel wrote:
someone is bidding on that crap Confused
Poor bastards.

I'm always very careful when it comes to Greek dealers, though it's usually easy to recognize the good from the scum.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Avenger
Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:04 am Reply with quote
Moderator Joined: 21 Nov 2007 Posts: 7220 Location: Edmonton, Canada
vansinne wrote:
Well, there are always nice fellows like this gentleman:
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZlastempire

Tried reporting him already without much success...


Riotrods round two.

_________________
bigfootkit wrote:
"Your Steel Is Not True"

stormspell wrote:
"I hate all my releases. I only listen to Korn and Limp Bizkit, don't you know..."
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
metalmartyrdoom
Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:20 am Reply with quote
Within The Prophecy Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 108 Location: Hellabama
MassOfKthulu wrote:
reliable greek sellers:
antonlv


That's good to know since I just bought something off him!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
metalmartyrdoom
Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:22 am Reply with quote
Within The Prophecy Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 108 Location: Hellabama
Avenger wrote:
vansinne wrote:
Well, there are always nice fellows like this gentleman:
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZlastempire

Tried reporting him already without much success...


Riotrods round two.


I had bought from "Riotrods" in the past and never had trouble. That's not saying he isn't a ripoff though.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum